Jeffrey P. Okeson, DMD, MSD

Jeffrey P. Okeson, DMD, MSD, is a 1972 graduate of the University of Kentucky College of Dentistry. After graduation, he completed two years with the Public Health Service in a rotating dental internship and directing an outpatient clinic. He joined the faculty at the University of Kentucky in 1974. He is Professor, Chairman of the Department of Oral Health Science, and Director of the College’s Orofacial Pain Center, which he established in 1977. Dr. Okeson has developed several post-graduate training programs in the Center, including a Master of Science Degree in Orofacial Pain. He is currently working with the Commission on Dental Accreditation establishing curriculum guidelines for the graduate training programs in orofacial pain. Dr. Okeson has more than 220 publications in the areas of occlusion, TM disorders, and orofacial pain in various national and international journals. The seventh edition of Dr. Okeson’s textbook “Management of Temporomandibular Disorders” is used in most of the United States dental schools as well as in many other countries. In addition to this text, Dr. Okeson has authored the seventh edition of “Bell’s Orofacial Pains.”

Dr. Okeson is an active member of many TMD and orofacial pain organizations, holding many offices and serving on numerous committees and boards. He is a past President of the American Academy of Orofacial Pain and former editor of the Academy’s Guidelines. He is a founding Diplomate and past President of the American Board of Orofacial Pain. Dr. Okeson is a very sought-after lecturer on the subject of TMD and orofacial pain and has presented more than 1,100 invited lectures on the subject of TMD and orofacial pain. He has received numerous awards including the American Academy of Orofacial Pain’s Service Award and the first-ever Distinguished Alumni Award from the College of Dentistry as well as The International Dentist of the Year Award from the Academy of Dentistry International.